As mentioned, today was a rest day in Boise. Somehow, however, I find it hard to ever not feel pressed for time on this trip: sleep “in” ’til 7:30 or so, do laundry, try and mail package of clothes home (packed too much stuff), take a leisurely bike ride by the Snake River, send out lots emails to people supporting the ride, go to gym and lift weights (OK, I know what you are thinking, but full body conditioning helps on a long ride like this), go to bike shop for bunch of stuff, and then walk into town for dinner. I ran out out of time to do all that I wanted to do on this “rest day.”

Boise, at least in the summertime, seems like a great place. It gets cold here in the wintertime, but it doesn’t snow that much, so the city does not have perpetual crumbled streets and potholes that come from that like we have in the northeast. The streets are clean, lawns are very green, annuals and roses are in bloom and don’t look wilted by the heat like in the east (since it is cooler at night?). The air is warm and dry. Yesterday it was 90 degrees here, today mid 70s. People seem content and happy, and are very nice.

So, the question was how to engage on marriage equality? I walked into Albertson’s supermarket and a girl pops out from behind a counter and asks how she can help me. “I’m looking for Clif bars.” She offers to walk me there and I wonder if this is just “Idaho nice” or what. She says “I like your T-shirt.” I say, “thanks, do you understand what ‘Freedom to Marry’ means?” She says: : “of course, gay marriage, right?…I just hate all those mean haters out there.” We chatted a bit more, and I gave her my fundraising card. It was great. At dinner, the waiter was inquiring about us and what we were up to in Boise. We talked about our cross country bike ride and then I point to shirt my Freedom to Marry T-shirt and say I am riding for marriage equality (I suspected that he would be friendly to the topic). He was super excited and asked for info on the cause, so I gave him a fundraising card. So, couple of people in Boise, maybe not needing to be “converted,” but still excited by the cause. Presumably they will look at fundraising website and my blog. Maybe tell a few friends, etc. That is precisely why I did this ride…

Boise was unexpectedly fun. I could actually visit here under other circumstances and would be happy to stay a bit longer, but we are off tomorrow…

State Capital building–twilight at around 9:30pm

