Today was a super easy day of 38 “official” miles and only 1,150 feet of elevation. I say official because we did some exploring around Twin Falls area before the ride (about 5 miles) and during ride took a detour with a steep descent and climb back up to the main road to see Snoshone Falls (about 4 miles). I also looped back once (maybe a 3 mile loop?) because I thought I had lost my bike computer magnet (it was still on the wheel to my chagrin). So all that added about an extra 10 miles. But the wind was at our back for most of the ride and I was screaming down a gradual decline at about 33 mph and climbing a grade of 2% at about 23 mph, which is pretty fast. I also had a flat tire at the beginning (which is how the bike computer got misaligned), and despite the tire repair class, it took me a lot longer than 49 seconds to fix it.

On the morning exploration to see more of Twin Falls and attempt to witness a BASE jump, I saw a painted target lying on the ground with balloons attached. The guys there explained that the plan was to float the target into the sky and have a parachutist jump from a plane flying overhead with a bayonetted helmet to pierce the target head first and land below in the Snake River. The spirit of Evel Kneivel lives on in this part of the world.

Snoshone Falls is an impressive sight. Sometimes called the “Niagara of the West,” Shoshone Falls is 212 feet high—45 feet higher than Niagara Falls—and flows over a rim 1,000 feet wide. Surprising that it doesn’t get more attention. I saw a double rainbow at the the Falls. Some of you may remember that a couple of years ago a guy nicknamed the “Hungry Bear” filmed a video at Yellowstone that was posted on You Tube. Hungry Bear oohs and cries over the sight of rainbow (he kind of sounds stoned like James Franco), and asks the existential question “what does this mean?” Jimmy Kimmel picked up on it, the video went viral and was viewed by millions. I am happy to report that the double rainbow means it’s been a great day. Is there another answer?

Parachute target

Snoshone Falls–The Niagara of the West

Double Rainbow–what does it mean?