Today we rode 110 miles from Worthington to Mankato. Conditions were ideal: road surface good, wind neutral, and almost no climbs. Total vertical feet about 1000. I am not sure I could ride the flat roads of Long Island back home 110 miles and climb less than 1000 feet, so that is flat.

I started out from the hotel alone, and reached the first SAG by myself, which was perfect as we headed due east into the rising sun, which was blazing red. It was quiet and being alone felt good. A group of 4 other strong riders pulled in just behind me at the first SAG 30 miles out, and we set off and rode the rest of the ride in a paceline that was both beneficial to my speed and enjoyable at that point to have company. Today is the first time on the ride that at mile 100 I wasn’t feeling completely drained, and the last 10 miles were on a bike path that was somewhat scenic, downhill, shady, and had some nice curves which increased the sensation of cruising along. It is very humid here, and I was sweating on the bike for the first time. Walking more than a couple of blocks in town here resulted in being completely sweaty.

Only one thing went wrong on the ride, which was a wrong turn. It was no big deal in terms of distance as we realized the error quickly. The only problem was that road was being chip sealed with stones and adhesive sealer. It stuck all over my tires, which I went to wipe off with my gloves as I otherwise thought I could flat or attract glass fragments. But then my gloves had the mixture all over them, and without thinking I had gotten that stuff on my handlebar tape, my seat, my shirt, my bib (I was wearing white today), etc. I was like a 2 year old kid with messy hands who makes a horror show of a mess without realizing the consequences…

Yesterday’s interview with the reporter was printed today. So, I am officially on record in MN press…

http://www.dglobe.com/event/article/id/58616/

Sunrise near Worthington. And wind power…

Paceline into Mankato. I’m third in…

