Today we rode 86 miles from Niagara Falls to Henrietta, which is just outside Rochester. The route out of Niagara was pretty seedy–most people said it was the worst ten miles of the trip. The funny part is that while I saw it, I don’t feel like it registered that much. Even though I had never been on these roads before, it kind of looked like what I imagined aging, upstate NY would look like…

We climbed 1550 vertical feet today, and while there were a couple of steep, noticeable climbs, what was most characteristic of the ride is continual rolling hills. I think this will pretty much be the “typical” day from here until the end, with a couple of the days having steeper up and downs. As far as I am concerned, bring it on. I won’t ever be in much better biking shape than this, so I may as well challenge myself as much as possible so that I know what my body could and could not do as a milestone marker for the rest of my life.

Not much else to say about today other than this sense that by next Tuesday I will wake up and no longer be a part of this riding experience…

Means “watch out for bowlers?”

